The Municipal Council

The Municipal Council

Municipal council is the highest decision-making body for all affairs within the framework of rights and duties of the municipality and thus represents the municipality legislature.

It consists of 16 representatives of political parties who meet in regular, extraordinary and gala meetings. Members of municipal council are elected for the period of four years. The councillors have rights and duties determined by law, Statute, standing orders of the Municipal Council and other acts.

Municipal council publishes tender invitations and gives proposals for presenting the prizes and other awards of Šempeter-Vrtojba Municipality.

Municipal council includes municipal council committees and boards as well as supervisory board and election committee. Committees and boards are established from municipal council and within the framework of their field of work.

Skip to content